Keynote Speakers

Teck Seng Low
Chief Executive Officer
National Research Foundation
Prime Minister’s Office, Singapore

Powering a Smart Nation through Digital Technologies

Abstract: Singapore’s transformation into a Smart Nation rides on key digital capabilities in areas including data analytics, sensors and IoT devices, automated technologies, and cybersecurity.  This keynote speech discusses the digital enablers and platforms that power a smart city, and how investments into research have helped us develop solutions to ensure the sustainability and vibrancy of Singapore as a Smart Nation.

Biography: Professor Teck Seng Low is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the National Research Foundation, Prime Minister’s Office, Singapore.  He was previously the Managing Director of A*STAR (2010 – 2012).  Professor Low was also the founding principal of Republic Polytechnic (2002 – 2008), as well as the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering in the National University of Singapore (1998 – 2000).  He was the founding Executive Director of A*STAR’s Data Storage Institute (1992 – 1998).
Professor Low was awarded the National Science and Technology Medal in 2004 – the highest honour bestowed on an individual who has played a strategic role in the development of Singapore through the promotion and management of R&D.  He was also awarded the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2007 for his merit and service to Singapore.  Professor Low is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) and an International Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, UK. 

Wen Tong
Wireless CTO


Biography: Wen Tong is the Head of Wireless Research, the Communications Technologies Laboratories, and the Huawei 2012 Lab and is a Huawei Fellow. Prior to joining Huawei in March 2009, Dr. Wen Tong was the Global Head of the Network Technology Labs at Nortel and the Nortel Fellow. He received the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering in 1986 and 1993 and joined the Wireless Technology Labs at Bell Northern Research in 1995 in Canada. He has pioneered fundamental technologies in wireless with 210 granted US patents. Dr. Tong was Nortel’s Most Prolific Inventor. Dr. Tong has conducted the advanced research work spanning from 1G to 4G wireless at Nortel. He had been the director of Wireless Technology Labs from 2005 to 2007. From 2007 to 2009, Dr. Tong was the head of Network Technology Labs, responsible for Nortel’s global strategic technologies research and development. In 2007, Dr. Tong was inducted as Nortel Fellow. Since 2010, Dr. Tong is the vice president and head of Huawei wireless research leading one of the largest wireless research organizations in the industry with more than 700 research experts. In 2011, Dr. Tong is appointed the Head of Communications Technologies Labs of Huawei 2012 LAB, a corporative centralized next generation research initiative. In 2011, Dr. Tong was elected as Huawei Fellow.  In 2014, Dr. Tong was elevated to IEEE Fellow for his leadership in the development of 3G and 4G wireless communication systems. Dr. Tong serves as Board of Director of Wi-Fi Alliance and Board of Director of Green Touch Consortium.

John M. Cioffi
Professor Emeritus, Stanford University
Chairman and CEO, ASSIA Inc.

Dynamic Learning & Optimization of Communication Networks

Abstract: Increasing global internet-use opportunity demands increasingly reliable and secure transmission of ever-growing amounts of data.  The communication path from any given source/server to the bandwidth consumer/sink is increasingly variable.  Variation’s causes can be different topology of infrastructure (wired and/or wireless), contention for any/some of, or all, the path’s links with other sources/sinks’ data, time of day/week, regulatory policy (licensed, unlicensed, cognitively shared), the application type for the data, and any movement mobility of the sink (or its environment).  Dynamic learning and optimization of infrastructure to continuously adjust to the variation is the solution to satisfaction of the opportunity demands, and discussed from an overview level in this talk. 

Biography: BSEE, 1978,  Illinois; PhDEE,  1984, Stanford;  Bell Laboratories, 1978-1984; IBM Research, 1984-1986; EE Prof., Stanford, 1986-present, now emeritus.   Cioffi founded Amati Com. Corp in 1991 (purchased by TI in 1997) and was officer/director from 1991-1997.  He currently also is on the Board of Directors of ASSIA (Chairman and CEO), Alto Beam, Tinoq, and the Marconi Foundation. Cioffi's specific interests are in high-performance digital transmission.  Cioffi is the recipient of the IEEE’s Alexander Graham Bell, Kirchmayer, and Millenium Medals (2010, 2014, and 2000); Member Internet Hall of Fame (2014); Economist Magazine 2010 Innovations Award; International Marconi Fellow (2006); Member, US National and UK Royal Academies of Engineering (2001, 2009); IEEE Kobayashi and Armstrong Awards (2001 and 2013); BBWF Lifetime Achievement (2014), IEEE Fellow (1996); IEE JJ Tomson Medal (2000); 1991 and 2007 IEEE Comm. Mag. best paper; and numerous Conference Best-Paper awards.  Cioffi has published over 600 papers and holds over 100 patents, of which many are heavily licensed including key necessary patents for the international standards in ADSL, VDSL, vectored VDSL,, DSM, LTE, Massive-MIMO, and various Wi-Fi methodologies. 


Xiaohu You
Southeast University, China

Biography: Xiao-Hu You received his Ph.D. Degrees from Southeast University, Nanjing, China, in Electrical Engineering in 1988. Since 1990, he has been working with National Mobile Communications Research Laboratory at Southeast University, where he is currently a professor and the director. He has contributed over 150 IEEE journal papers in the areas of signal processing and wireless communications. From 1998 to 2016, he was the Principal Expert of the 3G, 4G and 5G Research Projects under China National 863 High-Tech Program, respectively.
Professor You was the general chairs of IEEE WCNC 2013 and IEEE VTC 2016. He was the recipient of the National 1st Class Invention Prize in 2011, and was selected as IEEE Fellow in same year.